2.3 million foreign tourists stayed in hotels last year

According to Statistics Estonia, 3.8 million tourists stayed in Estonian accommodation establishments in 2019. The total number of nights spent was 7 million. 59% were foreign tourists and 41% were domestic tourists.

Last year, 2.3 million foreign tourists used the services of accommodation establishments. More than half of them came from neighbouring countries Finland (36%), Russia (12%) and Latvia (8%). The majority of foreign tourists came to Estonia on holiday (71%), almost a quarter came on business (23%) and the rest had some other reason for visiting. Foreign tourists spent 4.4 million nights in Estonia. 70% stayed in the accommodation establishments of Harju county, 10% in Pärnu county and 7% in Tartu county. Compared to 2018, both the number of foreign tourists as well as their nights spent increased by 5%.

The number of domestic tourists in accommodation establishments amounted to 1.5 million, which is 6% more than in 2018. Their nights spent totalled 2.6 million, which is also a 6% increase. 65% of domestic tourists were on holiday and 22% on a business trip. They mainly stayed in Harju county (25%), Pärnu county (15%), Tartu county (13%) and Ida‑Viru county (11%).

In December 2019, there were 280,000 visitors (159,000 foreign and 121,000 domestic tourists) in accommodation establishments, where they spent 193,000 and 312,000 nights, respectively. Compared to December 2018, more tourists came from Latvia (7%) and Russia (9%), while the number of tourists from Finland decreased by 4%.

In December, 998 accommodation establishments were available for tourists. 42% of the rooms and 35% of the bed places were occupied. The average cost of a guest night at an accommodation establishment was 38 euros, which is two euros less than in December 2018.

Statistical Classification of Regional Units of Estonia (EPS) based on the Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics (NUTS). NUTS 3 level regions in Estonia are as follows: Northern Estonia: Harju county; Western Estonia: Hiiu, Lääne, Pärnu and Saare counties; Central Estonia: Järva, Lääne-Viru and Rapla counties; Northeastern Estonia: Ida-Viru county; Southern Estonia: Jõgeva, Põlva, Tartu, Valga, Viljandi and Võru counties.

Source: Statistics Estonia

Read more from here

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: