Estonian foreign minister resigns

keit_pentus_rosimannusEstonian Foreign Minister Keit Pentus-Rosimannus on Wednesday tendered her resignation to Prime Minister Taavi Rõivas, BNS has learned.

The minister’s resignation comes in the wake of Tuesday’s court ruling which found her to be connected with the bankruptcy of her father’s road haulage company Autorollo and ordered her to pay the bankruptcy claim solitarily with other respondents.

“Upon returning from a working visit to Sweden yesterday, I unexpectedly found myself faced with the task of turning to the Supreme Court to defend my rights,” Pentus-Rosimannus said in a statement.

“The ruling that reversed the previous decision of the first-tier court obliged me to participate in the payment of the debts which the company once owned by my father incurred during the economic crisis. I do not agree with the court’s interpretations according to which family members have to be punished for father’s business failure, I regard the ruling as extremely unjust towards me and I intend to contest it in the Supreme Court,” she said.

“Respect for the Estonian state and its institutions and my understanding of European political culture do not allow me to act in the emerged situation in any other way than to ask the prime minister to release me from the position of foreign minister. I did this around noon today,” she added.

Pentus-Rosimannus said she can continue to deal with matters that are of importance to Estonia and Europe just as well in parliament and that’s what she’s going to do.

While the first-tier Harju County Court found last summer that Pentus-Rosimannus was not connected with the bankruptcy of her father Vaino Pentus’ transport company Autorollo, the Tallinn Circuit Court on Tuesday turned the bankruptcy claim partly against the minister.

Pentus-Rosimannus became foreign minister in November 2014 after Urmas Paet decided to take up his seat in the European Parliament.

Source: Baltic News Service via Estonian Review

Leave a Reply

